DuckDuckGo Help Pages

Sharing Chats in Duck.ai

You can create a link to share an individual Duck.ai response or an entire conversation. Shared chats are securely stored on an encrypted server, so they can only be viewed and saved by people with access to the link.

  • Like all Duck.ai chats, shared chats are encrypted so not even DuckDuckGo can read them.
  • Shared chats can be viewed and saved by anyone with access to the link.
  • Follow-ups in Duck.ai chats you share remain private to you, and follow-ups in chats you’ve shared with others are also private to them.
  • Uploaded files in shared chats are hidden, but generated files are visible. Information from uploaded files can still be referenced in prompts and responses that are shared.
  • All shared chat links eventually expire and are automatically deleted. Read more about deleting shared chat links below.
  • You can choose when shared links expire: 1 day, 2 days (default), 7 days, or 30 days.
  • Chat sharing is currently unavailable in the UK.

How To Share Chats

Share a Single Response or Full Conversation

  1. From Duck.ai, open the chat you want to share
  2. Click the share icon beneath the chat response you want to share
  3. Choose to share that single Response or the Entire Chat up to that point
  4. Select Create Share Link, then Copy
  5. Paste the link where you’d like to share the chat

Share a Full Conversation

  1. From Duck.ai, click the 3-dot menu ⋮ next to the chat you want to share
  2. Select Share
  3. Select Create Share Link, then Copy
  4. Paste the link where you’d like to share the chat

Managing Shared Chats

You can view chat links you’ve shared in Settings > Shared Chats. From here, you can:

  • See when chat links you’ve shared expire
  • Copy shared chat links
  • Delete shared chat links

Deleting a link stops it from working. That means people who have not clicked the link before will no longer be able to access the chat. However, people who have opened it and added the conversation to their Duck.ai chats will keep their own copy.

All shared chat links eventually expire and are automatically deleted after 1 day, 2 days (default), 7 days, or 30 days, depending on which option you choose, but you can also manually delete shared chat links at any time.

Delete Individual Shared Chat Links

  1. From Duck.ai, open Duck.ai Settings > Shared Chat Links
  2. Click the Fire Button icon next to the chat link you wish to delete

Delete All Shared Chat Links

  1. From Duck.ai click the Fire Button icon at the top of your “Chats” list
  2. In the “Delete recent chats?” dialog, select Delete Chats and Shared Links